Front Page

Gravel (Big Stones III)

In Managing Time on February 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm

I am still battling with my ‘to do’ list. Or rather my ‘to do’ list is waging war on my desire to fill my week days with meaningful occupation. I have …. wait for it … 62 things on my list. Clearly too many for anyone, particularly an expat who should be prioritising gin and tonic drinking! No, no, no; of course gin and tonic drinking is not a meaningful occupation. But writing is, so let’s see how I’m getting on with that:

Last post on “Expat Wife” – November 12, 2010
Last post on “Chronicles” – November 19, 2010

The evidence strongly suggests that I could do better. And why don’t I? Well I’m not 100% sure but I think it has something to do with gravel*.

My gravel is:
Still not having the house the way I want it.
Shopping.
Managing household staff.

My big stones are:
Writing “Expat Wife”
Writing “Chronicles”
Short story writing

(You can see 56 on the list remain uncategorised but let’s worry about them another time. And no pebbles?!)

So, I’m spending time on the gravel and not on the big stones? Well maybe but maybe I’m being too harsh on myself: I have been spending time on shopping and making the house nice recently but that’s because my parents are visiting in 2 days time. To be followed by at least one and maybe two friends visiting in April. It’s not gravel, it’s loving my family and friends: Big stones indeed.

* see Big Stones for an explanation

Leave a Reply

