Front Page

Us and them?

In Being Ma'am on July 27, 2010 at 6:18 pm

On my way downstairs I heard a male voice that I didn’t recognise. I assumed it was one of our security guards. It was my housekeeper! I didn’t recognise his voice! I don’t speak Hindi and he doesn’t speak English which may have something to do with it  but we do communicate verbally in English; he says things like, “Ma’am water?” to which I respond. But his voice was so different, he talks at a much higher pitch when he talks to me. I wonder if it is just language or is it because he’s my servant?

  1. I think it’s probably just him speaking a different language. I knew a Belgian woman when I was a kid, who had the most horrible speaking voice, and I heard her speaking french on the phone once and her voice was beautiful.

    Do you have a landline? THought I might give you a call. If you do, email it to me, and I’ll give you a ring.

Leave a Reply

