Front Page

Taking possession of my home

In Being Ma'am on July 26, 2010 at 9:18 pm

As an expat wife, I live in a larger house than I did in London but I share it with a lot more people; our live-in housekeeper; our driver;  our inside maid; our outside maid; our gardener; and 24 hour security guards. Since I arrived, I have sometimes felt that my home is not my own. But as I start week seven it’s time to take possession.

This is in no way a negative reflection on the people who work for me. On the contrary I have a quality team. Neither is it a power struggle; they want me to do my job too. This is about me owning a role that I didn’t have in the UK and doing it to the best of my ability.

Today we carried out a linen audit and rearranged the way it’s stored. I know what I’ve got so I can decide what I’ll use, what I’ll store and what I need to add to before guests start to visit. The housekeeper and I both know where everything is kept so we have the makings of a ‘system’ that we can both use.  

Also we can start washing everything as part of our grand spring clean which is up next …

Leave a Reply

